Discipline is the path to successful children!

‘Raise your children right, discipline them when you are able to and enjoy raising, as well as “spoiling” your grandchildren in old age. However spoil your children and raise your grandchildren!’

A wise woman once told me,

   As I have grown, I have seen this to be true. As children I had a strict mother, she would rarely physically beat us, however, she was the Queen of psychological warfare. She was never shy to tell my sisters and I ‘no’ or if we did something wrong, we knew there was always a consequence and it would be bad, really bad.

Fast forward to now…….

     I am a mother and a teacher and I have learned that telling your child NO is a form of discipline. They learn to accept that the world doesn’t revolve around their every need and wants. They learn that as they grow older, they may want to buy something with their own money but the bank account has said no! 

 It’s interesting to hear parents saying that no is harsh for children or that restrictions are negative. I sometimes wonder, would you watch your active child run to a fire and watch them or would you rather tell them no and save them the repercussions?

   Self-discipline in children comes with guidance from parents, teachers and the child’s environment. In all schools’ children are given free play time that encourages them to exercise free will and critical thinking within limits. These limits are not there to limit your child but to provide a safe environment for all in it. 

In my experience, a child who is not introduced to the word NO or even basic disciple is the child with the lowest self-esteem in the class.

Hear me out…

This child has learned how to control everyone in their environment/home. They get everything they want when they want it. Its all for them and everyone is at their mercy.

I know for some of us beating or spanking your child is not an option but they need to learn how to take NO for an answer and be content with it. As a parent, we must explain the reasons why we say no. For me, I explain to my child that not everything she wants is good or safe for her or sometimes it is just not the right time. We made rules about going shopping together before we go in we agree on what she can buy concerning the budget so that if she goes over and I say no she is not bitter about it.

Teaching your child to be content is empowering them with self-disciple, giving them a voice and opening up dialogue with them as they grow.

One thought on “Discipline is the path to successful children!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started